Posted in Anxiety, games, General Life, Uncategorized

Friends and Pokemon Go

I’ve come to find that sometimes I take my friends for granted. I have a pretty high level of anxiety and am not always aware of certain social queues so I find it difficult to make friends in the first place. Then between my depression and anxiety it can often be hard for me to get out. I’m so grateful for those who have stuck by me through everything though. The ones who understand that I’m not a perfect person and sometimes I just can’t wrap my mind around stepping outside of the front door.

I’ve always had anxiety, but due to a series of changes that have occurred in my life over the last few years that anxiety has been heightened.

This weekend would have been spent holed away inside of my home like normal, but I got a text from one of my best friends asking if I could help him with a project. That project was to bake nearly 10 dozen cookies for a party at a bar he’d been asked to supply food for. I had no reason to say no after all. I am so grateful I got out. He’d also recruited another friend of ours who we play video games with and his new roommate who promptly decided studying for her finals was out of the question when it came to cookies.

In the process of forcing myself to leave the house and help a friend I actually made a new friend. It turns out his roommate and I have a lot in common and found ourselves running to the end of the street at midnight to steal Team Mystic’s gym back from Team Instinct in the popular Pokemon Go app. Yes I play Pokemon Go. I have no shame in this it’s my childhood and I’m a gamer. On top of that it’s a game that has encouraged me to get out and meet people. It fascinates me how many kind people I’ve casually crossed paths with just because of this game.

So another of my changes is to get out, make new friends and keep building the friendships I have.

2 thoughts on “Friends and Pokemon Go

Leave a Reply

